As we all know, to do the Camino de Santiago you need, above all, time, and maybe you don’t have all the time you need to do a complete Camino with arrival to Santiago de Compostela. However, it is possible to do the Camino de Santiago in sections at different times of the year, and even year after year.

You have to think about the dates you are free (long weekends, holidays, etc.), whether to do it alone or in company, choose the type of accommodation etc. As for the credential will not expire and will be useful to obtain the Compostela as long as you meet the requirements of the two stamps per stage and in chronological order. For more tips, click here.

In this article we are going to talk about the main routes and the sections that you can do to complete the whole Camino de Santiago.

The French Way of Santiago by sections

Firstly, the stretch between Roncesvalles and Logroño the Pyrenees, with its sublime Pyrenean landscape that will lead you to the beautiful lands of Navarre and La Rioja, contemplating landscapes full of vineyards, with fountains that emanate wine and with a spectacular heritage. With a total of 136 kilometres divided into six stages, you will pass through towns such as Zubiri, Pamplona, Puente la Reina, Estella and Los Arcos.

The section of the Camino through the Pyrenees

Then we continue between Logroño and Burgos a simple trip without many slopes, where you can discover the Montes de Oca, with sublime landscapes, rich monasteries and even dinosaur footprints. In this case there are 121 kilometres divided into five stages, passing through Nájera, Santo Domingo de la Calzada, Belorado and San Juan de Ortega.

We will continue between Burgos and León two cities that will surprise you with their fabulous gothic cathedrals. It is a stretch of 175 kilometres divided into eight stages, linking the towns of Hornillos del Camino, Castrojeriz, Frómista, Carrión de los Condes, Sahagún, El Burgo Ranero and Mansilla de las Mulas. In its solitary plains you will have plenty of time to reflect and enjoy your privacy.

Between León and O Cebreiro you will be amazed by the impressive Cross of Ferro the majestic ascent to the mythical village of O Cebreiro and the triumphant entrance to Galicia. There are 153 kilometres divided into six stages that run between the towns of Villadangos del Páramo, Astorga, Rabanal del Camino, Molinaseca and Villafranca del Bierzo.

Finally, between O Cebreiro and Santiago de Compostela green Galicia awaits you, with its final arrival at the Plaza del Obradoiro. A total of 160 kilometres divided into seven stages that will allow you to visit the towns of Triacastela, Sarria, Portomarín, Palas de Rei, Arzúa and O Pedrouzo, in a very special section that preserves all the essence of the Pilgrims’ Route to Santiago de Compostela.

Although it is integrated in this last section, the French Way from Sarria is the favourite one for the pilgrim community, and with its 110 kilometres in five stages of green Galician vegetation, it is the best appetizer to get to know what the Way of Santiago is all about.

The Portuguese Way of Santiago by sections

From Lisbon to Golegã there are 124 kilometres divided into five stages, and you will pass through Alpriate, Vila Franca de Xira, Azambuja and Santarém. You will be able to enjoy the beautiful Lisbon and the shared Tagus River, which will accompany you permanently while you walk.

Between Golegã and Coimbra there are 123 kilometers spread over five stages, visiting Tomar, Alvaiázere, Alvorge, and Cernache. You will go deep into Portugal and get to know its gastronomy and rural culture. As a final climax, the impressive historic centre of Coimbra, with its two cathedrals.

From Coimbra to Oporto 127 kilometres await you, presented in six stages that will allow you to get to know Sernadelo, Águeda, Albergaria-a-Velha, São João de Madeira and Grijó. Once in Oporto you can indulge yourself by tasting its famous wine on the banks of another shared river, the Douro River.

The section of the Portuguese Way through Porto

Between Oporto and Tui we have prepared 124 kilometres divided into five stages. Walking between the towns of Vilarinho, Barcelos, Ponte de Lima and Rubiães you will leave Portugal crossing another shared river, the river Minho. In the last stretch in Portuguese lands, the bridges will be the protagonists, such as Ponte de Lima or the International Bridge of the Miño River: before crossing it, get lost in the fortress of Valença do Minho and enjoy the beautiful views of Tui and its historic centre.

Finally, between