How many Caminos de Santiago are there?

It is said that “all roads lead to Rome”, but it could also be said “all roads lead to Santiago de Compostela”.


The Camino de Santiago is not a single road, but a network of many roads that start from the peninsula and from all over Europe.


Routes currently recognized as official by the S.A.M.M.I Cathedral of Santiago are: the French Way, the TheNorth Road, the Primitive Way, the English Way, the TheRoad to Finisterre and Muxía, El Portuguese inlandroute and the Portuguese Way along the coast, The Via de la Plata, the Winter Road and recently the Route of the Sea of Arousa and river Ulla.


But in addition to these Jacobean routes recognized as official by the Cathedral of Santiago, there are also many other long-established Pilgrims’ Routes to Santiago that cross the entire peninsula. These are the Mozarabic Way, the Aragonese Way, the Southern Way, the Ebro Way, the Levante Way, the Manchego Way, the Madrid Way, or the Catalonia Way.


There are also a large number of routes of the Camino de Santiago that depart from many countries in Europe. The most famous are the Tavira-Quintanilha Way, the Paris Way (France), Vézelay Way (France), Via Podiensis (France), Arles Way or Via Tolosana (France), Via Francigena (Italy), the Austrian Way (Austria) and the Via Baltica (Central Europe).

See more pilgrim questions
Design the Camino to suit your needs